Home > Personal Development > How have you "Stretched Yourself" in bettering yourself?

How have you "Stretched Yourself" in bettering yourself?

I'm doing sales seminars this week for a client in California. My seminar today went very, very well. Sometimes, there is a bit of resistance from some salespeople because I am, in essence, asking people to change their behaviors so they can get a different and better result.

Since we all get into our ruts or fall into using our automatic-pilot, this can be challenging for some salespeople.

So, as a sales trainer, I'm interested in your thoughts on these questions:

How have you stretched yourself or your thinking in your career? Were you resistant to change at some point (or now)? What and how
have you changed? What do you do now that you once resisted?

I'd really like to hear your stories. Please share your thoughts. - by Skip Anderson
This is an excellent topic, Skip. Twelve years of learning how to prospect, market, advertise, present, sell, follow-up, recriut, teach and train - which are all the hats I have to wear - has been nothing less than a complete stretch into the unknown and constant learning. It never ends.

I've attended all of our company trainings over these years with a couple of exceptions. I continue to use all of our company training resources. BUT I've also looked for the best training I can find from all the resources I can locate and I continue to spend ten - fifteen hours weekly in study.

I've attended sales trainings and seminars from many perspectives and for many products and business applicatons. I read piles of material monthly - I listen to trainings all the time.

I've never been resistant to change but I've had to continually refine what I learn, question what I think I know, and look for answers to: is anything missing and if so what is it?