Home > Cold Calling > I Believe, So Why Don't They???

I Believe, So Why Don't They???

I sell pest control to businesses mainly that manufacture or produce food. From large confectionary businesses to small fast food outlets. I been doing this for 6/7 weeks now and my company wants instant results as opposed to building up a database or appointments for the future. Although I spent time on the telephone, my company expects me to door face-to-face cold calling. I am no problem with this but realistically, the chances of selling from cold a pest control contract to someone who is already covered is very small.

I'm not getting much in the way of new business. My objections are "we're happy with who we have", "we're in a contract so can you come back in a few months" or "we don't need it" as I can't convince them to take the product. I think that I expect them to say no before I begin which may play a part in the lack of success.

I took this job as a way of learning to sell effectively so I can take the long road to success in the future. I believe in my product's value to a business so why don't others?

I like this site but the dialogue used seems very jargon and Americanised sometimes. I'm not yet totally soul destroyed by getting turned down time after time again. I don't get given many warm leads more 1/2 a week if I'm lucky. When I do the conversion rate is very high so I know I can do it but then it seems I can't.

What's the key? I know about target market. My company is behind the top brand in it's market and isn't the first name on people's mind but is better than that company on value and on price. I know about selling on value. I'm aware of the legislation affecting my customers which installs a need for my product but people are still saying no.

Surely success is possible in everything????? My daily target is 500 a day which is 2 small businesses which isn;t much but it really seems to be.

HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! - by krashslaughta