Home > Management > How to recruit serious sales people

How to recruit serious sales people

I'm in the process of trying to build a sales team for the virtual staffing company I'm working with. It's a commission only, work at home position. I've been selling virtual staffing for several years now and love it but I'm having trouble finding serious sales people to apply.

There are so many work at home scams out there that it seems to be difficult for me to find the people who are looking for serious positions. Does anyone have any suggestions for me on where I can recruit or suggestions on how to recruit people who are looking for real jobs in this industry?

All advice is welcome! - by salesdirector
Work at home positions are difficult in finding talent because you must find those that are disciplined and have worked virtually in a previous setting.

First - hire for skill do not hire based on personality
Second - seek statistics request analysis from previous positions
Third - seek those perferably that have worked virtually
Fourth - set realistic daily goals and ensure you hold to accountables.
Fifth - Hire those in older generations, perferably late X and Boomer they are more willing to work solo and conduct reporting
Sixth - Look for part timers that currently have full time positions

Good Luck this should help to provide some insight. There are others and do not hesitate to ask if you need further assitance.

Drew Stevens
Split Second Selling - by Drew Stevens
The best recruiters are extraordinary networkers. I imagine that you are already leveraging this avenue. If not, networking is not an instant solution. It used to take half a lifetime to develop a powerful network of professional contacts willing to help. These days it can be done in a couple of years by intelligently utilising email and online professional networking tools such as LinkedIn and Plaxo.