Home > Approach > Sales Associate at Dick's Sporting Good's

Sales Associate at Dick's Sporting Good's

Hi everyone I have been working as a sales associate for about two months now and have had great success selling firearms. My question though is I need a better opening line then "What can I help you with?" or "How are you? So, what are you looking for?" If I had a dollar for every time I heard "I am just looking" I would already be wealthy. I also need help with an opening line to get customers interested in signing up for credit cards. The credit cards are probably the most important thing for the sales associate and I need help pushing them, any help will be much appreciated. Thank you all. - by MoneyMaker
Here's my suggestion based upon working with thousands of people in your situation:

1. If you can, engage your prospects on a "human" (non-business) level. Take your "selling hat" off.

2. Best opening line I've found in a retail setting: "What brings you into our store (or department) today?" You'll still get the "I'm just looking" responses, of course, so when you hear that, encourage the customer to look. ("Great! Please enjoy looking!").

3. As far as your credit account question, make sure you briefly explain the benefits of becoming a card-holder, then ask if they'd like to get one for themselves.

Those are a few quick answers for you; I hope they're helpful. Good luck! - by Skip Anderson