Home > Personal Selling > Becoming a sales rep at an IT company

Becoming a sales rep at an IT company

Hey guys, I'm an advertising student who is especially interested in going into sales after I graduate, particularly at an IT company. After looking around, I have noticed that a lot of these companies often want their sales reps to have a technical degree backgrounds but I have still found a few that are offering entry level positions in their companies without the former requirement,

I was wondering if there were some sales people here who work in the IT industry, who could give me some tips on how to prepare and to also get into this kind of position. I have gotten interviews for some sales internships, but have found it hard to find any sales internships in IT and was wondering if there was another industry that would be good to have a sales internship at. Thanks so much for your help and I hope to make a lot of comrades on this forum!

-Vollow - by Vollow
PM me with any additional info you wish to provide including when you expect to graduate. My daughter is a headhunter specializing in IT, with very solid relationships in that field. - by Ace Coldiron
Hi Vollow and welcome to Sales Practice!

I spent almost 15 years in selling IT solutions to the Small/Mid sector, so I have compiled a list of 7 tips to help you get started:

1) Learn (as quick as you can) the business benefit that a particular solution would provide a customere e.g. don't sell the features, help the customer understand how they/their business will benefit by adopting the solution you are suggesting and back it up with technical facts etc

2) Depending on your field of IT sales, get onto as many "manufacturer" websites as you can and get trained up - a lot of them offer free training and allow's you to become certified or accredited within that field. When competing against other companies, accreditations (and proof that you have had manufacturer-based training) helps.