Home > Education > Pharmaceutical Sales Training Tips

Pharmaceutical Sales Training Tips

I'm a personal trainer in Europe and I've got a request to offer a sales training for one of my clients in pharmaceutical.

What I'm looking for is literature and tipps regarding sales process, customer retention etc. especially for the pharma business.

Any tips are highly appreciated. - by sgt_serge
Gosh Serge, where to start.

The world of pharma sales is very complex, it's currently changing a lot, and it is highly risky for you and your client (more of that in a moment).

Pharma sales is often very different depending on the type of product you "sell", who you "sell" it to, and the country you're "selling" it in.

I use "sell" in quotes because you're not strictly selling. The person you interact with usually doesn't buy the product from you. If they're a doctor, then your job is to persuade them to prescribe your product for appropriate patients. The actual purchase comes downstream when the patient visits the doctor with a relevant condition, the diagnosis and prescription is done, the drug is bought from a pharmacy of some sort, and reimbursement is sorted out.

Selling primary care products (for example, statins) to a general practitioner is very different to selling a complex cancer drug to an oncologist in a hospital. In the one case you have a few minutes to get across some standard messages about the product - the other can often be a series of highly technical medical discussions over a long period of time with significant involvement from the pharma company's medical team.

So the sales role may vary from being essentially a door-to-door salesman to being a large account manager.